Avengers Assemble

“I still believe in heroes.”

I realise that i’ve been away a while, and it’s just because i’ve been dealing with my own stuff. But hopefully now everything is back on track and heading onwards and upwards. Generally, I like to use the Marvel Universe to describe the relationships I have with other people because of the different features that every character has, and every character, well almost every character, within the Marvel universe mirrors one of my friends.

The thing with The Avengers (Whedon, 2012), is that the team as one works as an ultimate, but it’s made by little pockets of people who are completely different. My friends are like the Avengers in the sense that we all make up ‘the crew’ but that’s not to say we have a sense of community one thousand percent of the time. We have disputes and arguments just like any group of people, but we know that if we fight it means we care. You don’t fight for something you don’t care about.

Something happened last week with a friend that scared me and pushed my anxiety over the edge. It reminded me that we have different opinions on things and that we have to agree to disagree. It was over something we had different views on, and the whole thing got heated and out of hand. This resulted in me having a panic attack and I couldn’t catch my breath. I was crying and crying, and there was just not enough air. This is not the point of this post.

My friend reminds me of Tony Stark because he is a cheeky shit, and he winds me up so much all the time. But without Tony Stark, there would be no Iron Man, and a world without Iron Man isn’t a pretty one. As much as we temporarily fall out and we say things we don’t mean, he really is a hero. He’s my hero for sure, because he’s my best friend/brother from another mother, who has picked me up every time I fall.

My other friends are all their own heroes, and they’re all mine too. My friends are incredible and they inspire me to be the best version of myself every single day. The groups of people we become part of are full of Hulks, Captain Americas, Hawkeyes, Iron Men and Black Widows, but the key is to embrace it, and work together. We all have different views on things but that’s what makes us stronger as a group and we need that to be open and well rounded people.

I really wanted to write this to show appreciation for my friends, and remind people that they should too. Even though we argued, we came through and rose up stronger from it and honestly I don’t know what I would do without these people in my life.

Always tell your Avengers how much they mean to you, because you never know when you’re next going to be in battle.

Live long and prosper,

Home Girl, interrupted.

Published by

AnonymousWriter

Just a girl trying to make sense of this mad world I live in.

Leave a Reply

