And Hell is just a Sauna

‘Secondly, don’t let anyone ever make you feel like you don’t deserve what you want. Go for it.’ 

It’s just gone midnight here, and i’m awake pondering the reasons why my life doesn’t resemble a golden age teen flick. Where is my high school sweetheart holding a boom box outside my window? Or my Patrick Verona just being absolutely fricking perfect? I don’t hesitate on the thought of wanting my life, especially my love life, to arrive at a happily ever after. But back in the real world, of course things are not that easy.

Whilst my own saga is bound to continue behind the scenes, on which you will get regular updates don’t worry, I would just like to talk about the original love story of my childhood for a minute. 10 Things I Hate about You (Junger, 1999) is absolute perfection for all the right reasons that aren’t just Heath Ledger. I think I was around ten or eleven when I first saw this film, and that was about seven years after it was released. I fell in love with it immediately. I’m aware the original story comes from Shakespeare’s tale of The Taming of the Shrew, but this modern day adaption is truly timeless. It’s witty and emotional in all the right places, and it counts as a classic must see. It always taught me that i’m not second best to anyone, and I shouldn’t settle. Let it teach you too, sometimes people need reminding that they are good enough and they shouldn’t have to settle for anything less than they want or deserve.

With films that are my favourites, like The Breakfast Club or The Lost Boys, and obviously this, I always assume people have seen them because I know them line by line. If that is not the case, which may well be possible, do one thing in the next few days and watch this film. You will laugh, and maybe cry but it’s all worth it in the end. Trust me.

Until next time, when the love story of my own is updated.

Live long and prosper,

Home Girl, interrupted.

Published by

AnonymousWriter

Just a girl trying to make sense of this mad world I live in.

Leave a Reply

